Introduction Letter

My name is Andrew Gerrand, I will be your cooperating student for my pre-internship. I would like to thank you for this opportunity of allowing me to be a part of your classroom for the next few months. As a class we have been preparing to get into the classroom and teach for over a month, and getting ready for this experience is very exhilarating. I am looking forward to meeting your students and being a positive influence in your classroom environment. I am also looking forward to being a keen observer of your teaching style and how you engage your students. Watching an experienced teacher will certainly help me develop the needed skills to be a successful teacher in the future.
I am an after-degree student with a Bachelor’s degree in History. After finishing my first degree I spent the next ten years working with at risk youth at the Ranch Ehrlo Society. I have mostly worked with adolescent and teenage youth in a 10-bedroom unit that focuses on addictions. I have also enjoyed this last decade but feel it is time to move on to a new career. I have been very active in team sports in my life and try and maintain an active lifestyle. I have coached a variety of sports over the last 15 years, but am currently taking a break with this busy university schedule.   My wife Christal is a registered social worker and also works at the Ranch Ehrlo Society. We have three children, and I am hoping that my role as a parent will assist me as a teacher in the classroom.

 

As I have already mentioned, I am very excited about this opportunity of being a part of your classroom. I will be able to take direction well, listen attentively and will be a positive role model for your students.

Leave a comment