Are anxious kids in the classroom the same as at home?

So I am starting to feel like I am that annoying person that is inundating everyone in class with the over exposure to the same issue.  So if you are sick of me talking or seeing stuff about my kids then I will not be hurt if you do not read this post or watch my videos of my kids critiquing my cooking.

My 7 year old in grade 2 is a bit of an emotional mess when it comes to school (or anything else for that matter) and I wanted to look into whether or not anxious behaviours at home manifest differently at school or if they look the same.  We (my wife and I) have done some inquiring about my daughters behaviour at school and her teacher says that she does not see any issues.  So I wanted to dig a little deeper.

What I found were some good tips from a parents standpoint of what to do and for teachers, what to look for.

I think that being aware of why students are acting a certain way is crucial to good teaching.  I have read some great articles based on tweets and posts from other ECMPers.  I think the best advice that I have heard but is often difficult to practise is being proactive to behavioural issues is more affective than being reactive.

In regards to the title question?  I think that its impossible to tell whether or not the two anxieties will look the same unless you are home schooled.  With the environments being so different anxious kids would act differently depending on where they are and who is around. Making it so important to have open dialogue between teachers and parents. Thoughts?

Leave a Reply

